Swiftwater Students holding awards

Swiftwater Learning Center had three individual nominees as well as a small group nomination at the Kittitas County Youth Awards- all of which took home an award. The mental health group We’re Only Human won first place in the small group category. The group consists of seniors: Jayden Jameson, Hunter Pearson, Jayden Lohnes, and River Dewey. Sophomores: Macaela Osiadacz, Shasta Marion, Sarah Hussles, and freshman Cayden Meyers.  

Macaela Osiadacz won an individual award in the category of Civic/Community Service after putting together a donation drive during the month of December. “I wanted to put out an opportunity for struggling families to receive presents just in time for the holidays. With the unfortunate weather and closed roads many families were struggling and my goal was to put some hope back into the community,” said Macaela. Hunter Pearson won an individual award in the category of personal achievement. “Hunter works 2 to 3 jobs at a time and is still able to be a leader at school,” said para-educator Maya DeKnikker. Jayden Jameson won an individual award for leadership. “Jayden has worked really hard to change the public’s perception of alternative education and she has done an amazing job” said everyone in the world. 

The Kittitas County Youth Awards ceremony took place on March 28, 2022. The goal was to honor the amazing students in Kittitas County. In order to have been recognized you must have been nominated by a member in the community that truly saw your accomplishments. 

This is not the first time Swiftwater Learning Center has had students win awards.  Last year, Zeke Haverfield won an award in the arts for his work as The Grinch.