National Honor Society

The National Honor Society (NHS) is the nation's premier organization established to recognize outstanding high school students. More than just an honor roll, NHS serves to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellence in the areas of scholarship, service, leadership, and character. These characteristics have been associated with membership in the organization since its beginning in 1921.

Today, it is estimated that more than one million students participate in NHS activities. NHS chapters are found in all 50 states, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, many U.S. territories, and Canada. Chapter membership not only recognizes students for their accomplishments, but challenges them to develop further through active involvement in school activities and community service.

Honor Society Induction Ceremony 2017

The Cle Elum - Roslyn chapter of National Honor Society (NHS) inducted 13 new members at a ceremony on Wednesday, November 8th. Mr. Brett Simpson gave a principal's welcome, and Mr. Peter Smyth gave the keynote address. Officers Emily Lussier, Eric Merkel, Karley Burrows, and Michael Otto gave short speeches highlighting the four pillars of NHS: character, service, scholarship, and leadership. Members must maintain a 3.5 or higher cumulative GPA in addition to completing 25 individual community service hours each year.
NHS is currently planning a project to benefit the community, as well as a project to bring joy to all CERHS students this winter.

Cle Elum-Roslyn Chapter
The Cle Elum-Roslyn National Honor Society meets on Thursdays during lunch in Mrs. Harper's classroom. For more information, feel free to contact Mrs. Harper or a current NHS officer!

2017-18 NHS Officers:
President -  Emily Lussier
Co-Vice Presidents - Eric Merkel
Secretary - Karley Burrows
Treasurer - Michael Otto

2016-17 NHS Officers:
President - Sarah Zabik
Co-Vice Presidents - Seth Bassetti and Vinny Clifton 
Secretary - Claire Howerton
Treasurer - Cameron May-Penelerick 

2015-16 NHS Officers:
President - Liz Webb
Vice President - Zuley Perez
Secretary -Delaney Burrows
Treasurer - Jacquelyn Peters

2014-15 NHS Officers:
President - Hayden Houle
Vice President - Kylee Sutton
Secretary - Delaney Burrows
Treasurer - Matthew Anderson

National Honor Society